Academic Calendar


To view the 2018-2019 CPS Expanded Academic Calendar in page-per-month grid format, click here


FALL 2018 UNDERGRADUATE SEMESTER

 
First day of registration for fall classes Monday, June 18
Labor Day, no classes Monday, Sept. 3
First day of full-semester and half-semester A fall classes Tuesday, Sept. 4
Last day of online class add for half-semester A fall classes Monday, Sept. 10
Last day of online class add for full-semester fall classes Monday, Sept. 17
Last day to drop a full-semester or half-semester A fall class without a "W" grade Monday, Sept. 17
Columbus Day observed, no classes Monday, Oct. 8
First day of ten-week fall session classes Tuesday, Oct. 9
Last day of half-semester A fall classes Saturday, Oct. 20
Last day to drop a half-semester A fall class with a "W" grade Sunday, Oct. 21
Final exams for half-semester A classes Oct. 22 - Oct. 23
Last day of online class add for ten-week fall classes Monday, Oct. 22
Last day to drop a ten-week fall class without a "W" grade Monday, Oct. 22
First day of half-semester B fall classes Wednesday, Oct. 24
Last day of online class add for half-semester B fall classes Tuesday, Oct. 30
Last day to drop a half-semester B fall class without a "W" grade Tuesday, Nov. 6
Veterans' Day observed, no classes Monday, Nov. 12
Thanksgiving Recess, no classes Nov. 21 - Nov. 25
Last day of full-semester and ten-week fall classes Saturday, Dec. 8
Last Day to drop a full-semester or ten-week fall class with a "W" grade Sunday, Dec. 9
Final exams for ten-week fall classes Dec. 10-12
Final exams for full-semester fall classes Dec. 10-15
Last day to drop a half-semester B fall class with a "W" grade Wednesday, Dec. 12
Final exams for half-semester B fall classes Dec. 13-15


FALL 2018 GRADUATE QUARTER

 
First day of registration for fall classes Monday, June 18
First day of full and first-half fall sessions Monday, Sept. 17
Last day of online class add for first-half fall session classes Sunday, Sept. 23
Last day of online class add for full fall session classes Sunday, Sept. 30
Last day to drop a full or first-half fall session class without a "W" grade Sunday, Sept. 30
Columbus Day observed, no classes Monday, Oct. 8
Last day to drop a first-half fall session class with a "W" grade Sunday, Oct. 21
Final exams for first-half fall session Oct. 22 - 27
First day of second-half fall session Monday, Oct. 29
Last day of online class add for second-half fall session classes Sunday, Nov. 4
Last day to drop a second-half fall session class without a "W" grade Sunday, Nov. 11
Veterans' Day observed, no classes Monday, Nov. 12
Thanksgiving Recess, no classes Nov. 21 - Nov. 25
Last Day to drop a full or second-half fall session class with a "W" grade Sunday, Dec. 9
Final exams for full and second-half fall session classes Dec. 10-15


SPRING 2019 UNDERGRADUATE SEMESTER

 
First day of registration for spring classes Monday, Nov. 5
First day of full and half-semester A spring classes Monday, Jan. 7
Last day of online class add for half-semester A spring classes Sunday, Jan. 13
Last day of online class add for full-semester spring classes Sunday, Jan. 20
Last day to drop a full-semester or half-semester A spring class without a "W" grade Sunday, Jan. 20
Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday observed, no classes Monday, Jan. 21
President's Day, no classes Monday, Feb. 18
Last day of half-semester A spring classes Saturday, Feb. 23
Last day to drop a half-semester A spring class with a "W" grade Sunday, Feb. 24
Spring break for full-semester spring classes Feb. 24 - Mar. 3
Final exams for half-semester A spring classes Feb. 25 - Feb. 26
First day of half-semester B spring classes Monday, Mar. 4
Last day of online class add for half-semester B spring classes Sunday, Mar. 10
Last day to drop a half-semester B spring class without a "W" grade Sunday, Mar. 17
Patriots' Day no classes Monday, Apr. 15
Last day of full-semester and half-semester B spring classes Saturday, Apr. 20
Last Day to drop a full-semester or half-semester B spring class with a "W" grade Sunday, Apr. 21
Final exams for half-semester B spring classes Apr. 22-23
Final exams for full-semester spring classes Apr. 22-27


WINTER 2019 GRADUATE QUARTER

 
First day of registration for winter classes Monday, Nov. 5
First day of full and first-half winter sessions Monday, Jan. 7
Last day of online class add for first-half winter session classes Sunday, Jan. 13
Last day of online class add for full winter session classes Sunday, Jan. 20
Last day to drop a full or first-half winter session class without a "W" grade Sunday, Jan. 20
Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday observed, no classes Monday, Jan. 21
Last day to drop a first-half winter session class with a "W" grade Sunday, Feb. 10
Final exams for first-half winter session Feb. 11-16
Presidents' Day, no classes Monday, Feb. 18
First day of second-half winter session Tuesday, Feb. 19
Last day of online class add for second-half winter session classes Monday, Feb. 25
Last day to drop a second-half winter session class without a "W" grade Monday, Mar. 4
Last Day to drop a full or second-half winter session class with a "W" grade Sunday, Mar. 24
Final exams for full and second-half winter session classes Mar. 25-30